Lady Lily Post-Op

Many of you know my 5 year old daughter had extensive dental surgery yesterday…how extensive you may ask? 6 teeth pulled, several baby root canals, 5 metal molar caps and a number of cavities filled. Un-real. The procedure itself took two hours…pre-op they gave her a lovely sedative which resulted in joyful curiosity about her “high” which she quite enjoyed lol. As did we LOL. Was hard not to laugh at our stoned kid.

The hardest part for me? Seeing her in Recovery her mouth bloodied and swollen still so unaware where she was, crying and struggling. So vulnerable and limp. She looked like she been through a few rounds in the ring. Major stomach clench. Thankfully she slept all the way home and on through the night waking to drink apple juice, eat some applesauce drifting in & out of a movie lying on the couch.

Today? She’s alert, curious, playful and ready to go back to school tomorrow excited to share her “war story”…and awfully pleased the Tooth Faerie visited her overnight. RELIEF for us parents who barely breathed yesterday.

Ah the joys of children’s belief in faeries. ‘Course, I still believe in them too ; )

image

Lady Lily, December 2nd 2014

Blessings,
Jules

29 thoughts on “Lady Lily Post-Op

  1. Asariels Muse says:

    awwww, poor baby, I know in some ways it’s harder on ya’ll that love her than on her. I’m glad to hear she’s doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amommasview says:

    Never stop believing in fairies! Never! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sean says:

    She’s obviously a tough nut. Hope she recovers quickly ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Poor thing, she should sleep awhile!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. corker2211 says:

    Ah, the poor little girl. I pity her. I’ve been there with my Daughter many years ago. That procedure was probably a bit tough on her, but the drugs they have today helped make it much better. I’m hoping that she recovers well and is in good spirits. She may not remember this in the years ahead of her, but I’m sure that Mom will refresh her memory. Best wishes
    Les

    Liked by 1 person

  6. annj49 says:

    That’s a rough experience for a little one, and very hard on Mom โค

    Liked by 1 person

  7. @St-Manuel says:

    Very proud of her…an amazing soul…dusted with metal it appears. Wants to head out to school tomorrow. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good job Lily!!! What a brave girl she is! Glad to know she is ok now ๐Ÿ™‚ Best wishes to her โค

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Garfield Hug says:

    Wishing your daughter a speedy recovery! In my country the poor child will be fed soups or fish porridge as chewing is a challenge. Garfield hugs and may she feel no pain. Take care๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Good team work! Kudos to you all for coming through the experience with a smile.
    Bigfoot (my eldest child) only found out our side of his operation story when he was grown-up enough. He remembers smiling parents who sneaked his favourite cereal into hospital under their pullovers and got into trouble for playing with the blood pressure monitor he had on his finger tip. Happily he didn’t notice how scared we were inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. songtothesirens says:

    I hope she has a speedy recovery!! That sounded like it would hurt….root canals…..ouch! She sounds like an awfully brave little girl to go through all that and wake up happy to see the tooth fairy came! That was a really good idea ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s lucky to have such a caring and creative mom…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      Awwww thank you luv, you made my day. I don’t always feel like the best Mom lol but I try. Yes she is a brave heart. She thought she would go to school today but I’m glad she’s opted for staying home. No rush I say. Chillin’ is good โ˜บ

      Like

      • songtothesirens says:

        I agree. I must be a big baby because I didn’t do anything for about three days afterwards, and my oral surgeon does not believe in pain so he gives you plenty of pain med prescriptions. I was high for days ๐Ÿ™‚

        I think worrying about being a good mom is a sign that you are a good parent. Otherwise, you wouldn’t worry about it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

