Gone But Not Forgotten

Weekly Photo Challenge

My Dad, Bill Moore, passed away 2 years ago at the age of 71. He had a good death surrounded by his loving family, peaceful, you could not wish for a better way to move on into the next adventure. I am an only child blessed with many cousins, aunts & uncles. His death flattened me. We were very close, two peas in a pod, my love of music and performing, my sense of justice, instilled in me by his. He treated everyone he met with respect and a great sense of humour, he made people smile – always. Such a gentleman of true character and integrity…so well loved was he.

Not a day goes by…gone but definitely not forgotten.

William H. Moore October 11th 1940 ~ February 12th, 2012

image

image

image

My favorite photo of him. With his first grandchild, Lily at 4 months, not long after his mother passed away at the tender age of 100. Halifax NS, September 2009

Five months later on July 20th his sister Mildred “Meme” Moore passed away at the age of 81. I believe she was ready so she just…let go. We were very close she & I…a jeweler by trade, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, a clever card player, she too was well loved. I miss her laugh.

Mildred Moore 💜

image

Mildred with Lily at 3 weeks old. Dartmouth NS, May 2009

May you find other takes on this photo challenge here at
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/gone-but-not-forgotten/

Peace, love & light,
Jules

21 thoughts on “Gone But Not Forgotten

  1. Beautiful photos and beautiful tribute to love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. smilecalm says:

    may you gently remember
    as their beautiful continuation

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your sweet Dad will always hold a special place in your heart where the good memories between you two will never fade away. ❀ These good memories will not only stay in your heart, but they are also the good memories to be shared with Lily along with these beautiful photos. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You look like him too? A moving and fitting tribute … thanks for the words … πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “We shed a tear for you have gone……. but we can’t help but smile because you were here” My fondest memories are of those spent with my dad, I am so bleassed that I still have him. Hopefully, your great memories ease the pain of his passing a bit.. Thank you for sharing such a personal story with us πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. corker2211 says:

    Like you stated, “Gone but Not Forgotten.” Lost my Mother to Cancer 10 yrs. ago this month. A WWII Veteran, stationed in London during the bombing from Germany, she had many memories to tell me. She ruled me and my Brother with a iron hand, but was always there to give us what we needed. She is sadly missed, and always will be. A Post about her will be soon.
    Les

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful! Going through the same thing myself now. Lovely pictures, lovely words. πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Garfield Hug says:

    Having read your post and Stuart M Perkins post you both lost a dad two years ago. I am sorry for your loss. Parents are special and I am glad your dad passed surrounded by loved ones. Have a good Memorial Day of your dad. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

