Subway Jam

Good morning lovelies! I’ve had such a pleasant day so far. After dropping Lily off at school I had a lively chat with music duo “Subway Jam” also known as Mike & Dennis. Professional subway station musicians they be here in Toronto.  

image

Mike & Dennis

Apparently this is quite a lucrative business, “We’re not forced to play here,” chuckles Mike on a well earned break as we watch the TTC staff re-outline the “stage” where they play. He is delightful. Full of cheer really. As it turns out Mike is also an East Coaster hailing from St. John, New Brunswick. Small World! I grew up in Halifax, Nova Scotia, (province next door) so we had a few laughs reminiscing about home.

What I did not know? Musicians must audition every 3 years in order to obtain their subway performance licences judged meticulously by rather well knowns. Who knew? I mean I’ve yet to encounter a brutal player en subterranean route, now it makes sense why.

So Mike & Dennis are playing my ‘hood today much to my pleasure and delight. Nothing quite so lightens a winter commuter load than music heard upon surfacing from the depths. And these guys rock. Mostly Blues which is definitely my kinda jam πŸ˜‰

image

Mike riffing the blues

image

image

image

image

Dennis' Ibanez

image

Dennis chatting with a bud, Donovan, who also happens to live in my building. Small world.

image

Dennis

image

Unfortunately I hadn’t the opportunity to shoot them playing together for various reasons. They’ll still be there this afternoon when I pick Lily up so I’ll do my best to get some shots.

Oh! And Dennis is interested in using one of my pics for his new album cover – wicked! Totally made my day.

I hope all is well in your world ☺

Peace, love & light,
Jules

27 thoughts on “Subway Jam

  1. sheldonk2014 says:

    That’s a win win,totally cool ask him if you can get some credit on the album for the picture that would even better, you rock Julia,way to go, professional camera here we come

    Liked by 2 people

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    That’s what I meant you give him the photo and you get the credit,exactly. I am busting for you Julia,

    Liked by 2 people

  3. painkills2 says:

    Well, after the album cover comes out, you’ll need a frame. Better start looking πŸ™‚

    Cool photos, and… Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. @St-Manuel says:

    You know what I think. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the picture, can I ask you what settings you used & how you edited it? Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. M.A. says:

    You see, this is one of the things I miss about mass transit in a big city. Culture isn’t just the stuff in a concert hall or hidden behind the entrance to a gallery. It’s something you get to step into and rub against just outside your door. And I can imagine so many of your photos as album covers. That would be so cool.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

