Anniversary

image

Dad & Lily at 5 mths, 2009

This is my favorite pic of my Dad. He’d stopped by early one September morning not long after his mother had passed away (at tge ripe age of 100 I might add). He was so present here with his first grandchild it never ceases to produce more  love.

Love.

My Dad was love. He was a man with great depth of character, an excellent sense of humour and decency, a true gentleman. He took care of his own and many others. Utterly unforgettable, I’d hazard to say even if you only met him once for he treated everyone the same, with respect and ease and grace.

Yesterday was the third anniversary of his sudden passing at age 71. I still think he was much too young…we still had plans and for a long time I felt robbed and thus, very angry. How dare he leave me…how dare God take him away.

My parents separated before I was 2 so I don’t remember ever living with him. Our relationship I believe truly began when I was 30. I decided to let the past go set aside my issues and get to know the person who was my Dad. Thank God I did for through that process I found my father. The safe person who held my hand when I cried, listening without questioning, just being there…who laughed with me or sat easily in silence watching the fire. We healed much together I’m proud to say…and we did it together.

So, three years. I’m so glad I’m here and not there…the pain of his death was indescribable. Today I’m simply happy he was, he had been, always will be, my Dad.

I love you Bill Moore. Thank you for being my Dad ☺

image

Bill & Jules 2007

image

image

Getting "Screeched In" - Newfoundland 2005

image

image

One of his favorite places to be, the basement shop.

image

Winning "Head Boy" the first ever at Prince Andrew High Scool in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Thank you for being here.
Love,
Jules

18 thoughts on “Anniversary

  1. kiwiskan says:

    beautiful picture

    Liked by 2 people

  2. kiwiskan says:

    and a lovely memorial for your Dad…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. T.R. Sanders says:

    “Death ends a life, not a relationship… Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.”

    Mitch Albom

    Liked by 2 people

  4. M.A. says:

    My father died at 70, now about 18 years ago. And I’ve been surprised at how insistently present he remains in my life. Sometimes, I have to remind myself that my current wife and my two younger kids never met him because he’s in my head on a fairly regular basis. The relationship really never ends, for which I’m very grateful. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Bill Moore sounds like a lovely man (and I’m sure a very respected Head Boy).

    Liked by 2 people

    • Julia Manuel says:

      I can relate…we keep “Poppy” very present, especially as I’m often heard saying his silly expressions like “Holy poop!” Lol. I just feel so lucky we had/have the relationship we did/do ☺ he drops dimes for me which is wild because it often happens when I’m thinking of him.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    It’s a heart felt when you lose someone you love dearly,but as you said,you still took the time to reunite with him, I know how you fell, how you wished he was, but the memories do linger they are no longer here
    Always and forever Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  6. @St-Manuel says:

    I miss him too and everything you say is true. He was a good man and in my book…that is the legacy. As you know…I have and had great respect for my Dad…he was a good man. The difference of course…he was in my life until he left it but he is still very present in my head and heart…I suppose that’s why I never really miss him…he is present every day of my life. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thejoshuagenerationministries says:

    I’m glad you were able to develop what seems like a wonderful relationship with your father after so long. Many people don’t have the courage to leave the past where it belongs. I applaud you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Eva Jane says:

    Your Dad was very special…as are you, Beautiful Julia ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Asariels Muse says:

    (hugs)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

