Skating!!

I took myself skating this morning after dropping my daughter off at school – how motivated am I! So proud of myself ☺ There’s a great park near the school with a manmade outdoor rink, the city allows the “Friends of Stephenson Park” access to the water there. Flood away! Got me a new pair of used skates thanks to my friend Meg and off I went. An inch of snow on the ice didn’t deter me though I felt shy being there by myself. Funny huh? Still a little unsteady on the blades, been over 20 years sure since I skated. I notice one big difference between now & then – fear. Fear of falling and breaking something or ending up with a bruise on my ass the size of Texas lol. But I did it anyway.

That’s the definition of bravery yes? Having the courage to do despite the fear. Yay brave me.

image

image

Fresh Tracks

image

The rink

image

Gliding...

image

Swirly

image

Winter's Sun

Bit chilly at -20C skated around 20mins, still worked up a grand sweat ☺ great exercise, great fun! And soooooo good for my mental health 💜

What brave thing will you do today?

Peace love & light,
Jules

28 thoughts on “Skating!!

  1. channon1981 says:

    This picture reminds of Christmas x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mojoshawn says:

    Reminds me of the Jethro Tull song “Skating away on the thin ice of a new day.” I’m sure the ice is thick…at least I sure hope it is! Great shot, Julia.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good post, Mama M. Great photos. The only brave thing I’ve done lately is to drive through town. Well done you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. smilecalm says:

    such beautiful designs
    left in the snow!
    i leave snow angels
    that look injured 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The swirly photo is fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bravo! Well done, friend.
    Absolutely gorgeous pics.
    I cannot possibly compare my bravery with yours. I woke up earlier and went outside to shoot the sunrise. It was -1C and I didn’t wear a coat nor gloves. Had a fleece though. I was shivering after a few minutes and some pics. Like a sissy… Lol
    Great that you had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      I love the photo!! Well worth a few chilly minutes outside ☺ well done! Sorry I haven’t posted your article yet…been busy editing photos today some are needed for a newsletter and maybe tge local Muskoka paper. Man! I had no idea how many I took! Lol I was hoping to do it Tuesday as a weekly thing but now I realize it doesn’t matter what day. I hope i didn’t stress you out trying to get it to me!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Soylani says:

    Wonderful! I wish I could join you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. milliethom says:

    What an amazing time you had, Julia! Your photos are wonderful and I bet the exercise made you feel on top of the world! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. @St-Manuel says:

    Proud of you. I suppose I’ll need to get the blades sharpened. Great photos…love the ‘blade patterns’.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the photo of the tracks in the snow. It is both a beautiful photo and impressive that you did it with apparent ease after 20 years. I would love to have a rink like this close by… no snow in my part of the world unfortunately. There is a indoor rink, and like you, I tried to get back into it, but not only was it the fear of falling when older, it WAS the falling that stopped me from continuing… shame though, as it was so much fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. sheldonk2014 says:

    Anything where I have no control over drives me rite to the edge,better you than me

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

