Feedback

I’ve just had great constructive criticism on the photo in my previous post “Uninspired” by my lovely acquaintance Tieme at
http://luvo-photography.com/. He mentioned the photo might be stronger if I cropped in closer or used shading as the background could be seen in the lower left hand corner. Hmmmm, I hadn’t thought of that! So back to my editing board I went and here are the results.

  1. Shading and crop…

image

  1. Just shading…

image

And the “original”…

image

I still…like the original better.

#1. Unfortunately in order to get rid of the background completely I had to crop on the right side too otherwise it looked off. Now I feel it’s too off center in a way that makes it look like a bad crop. Or is it just me?

#2. In my opinion is better than #1. but again…yep I’m partial to the original.

What do you think?

I love receiving constructive feedback. I’ll be more aware of what the background’s doing when shooting and editing in the future.

Thank you Tieme!

34 thoughts on “Feedback

  1. T.R. Sanders says:

    I prefer the original as well. I agree there are some shots for which including some background lessens the impact of the focus. I don’t think this is one of them, for me the color bleeding through from the edge isn’t detailed or textured enough to take my focus, rather it heightens the texture and tint of the foreground. Just an opinion, though!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mojoshawn says:

    I agree with Ryan regarding the detail. Original for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I vote the n. 1 after shading and crop. It seems more full somehow .. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kbailey374 says:

    I think I like the original, but it is hard to tell, they are so similar

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    Your work is beautiful,I only wished I could do what you do, if there’s something missing I’m blinded by its beauty

    Liked by 2 people

    • Julia Manuel says:

      I think you know it’s learning or seeing from another point of view. Neither is good or bad just different ☺ thank you for your beautiful words my friend. You are my friend Sheldon…I do so appreciate you

      Like

  6. Asariels Muse says:

    I like the one with the shading best although if I hadn’t seen the two together I never would have considered that the original needed shading.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. smilecalm says:

    when mind quiets
    my heart can hear
    flower’s soft reply 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. John Hric says:

    every picture tells a story. and it depends on the story you want to tell. so generally that might be the rule, adjusted to the subject, the circumstances, and the story you want to tell. So advice is fine and so is going with what your gut tells you – even in light of the advice. And I did enjoy the image. Thanks !

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dodgysurfer says:

    I like the original too. The bottom left corner looks complete but not distracting. With the other two it’s too dark and looks strange, it upsets the balance of the frames.
    I found it much more noticeable when I opened the photos individually, strangely, because the background outside the frame affects how the frame appears.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    I actually like #1 best but I am no professional so go with your heart. I guess it depends on what you are trying to achieve.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sean Mungin says:

    I, too, like the original..but it really depends on the look that you were going for…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Likewise, I am no great art critic. The first shot was good, the second was good too. I liked the background blur, I don’t think it detracted from the subject in the least.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tieme says:

    Hi Julia! Wow, thank you! Let me start by emphasizing that I am NOT criticizing your work! I love the original! The light in the shot is fantastic.

    What I like most in this post is that it shows how important it is to have your own taste, your own opinion. Too much I find myself depending on what others think of a photo. Your post reminds me that your taste is your taste, and mine is mine. So, I like the first photo, because the background distracts me (I am easily distracted). But, it is your photo, you are the artists, so it’s up to you to decide which one is best!

    You are the photographer, and you decide what photo to share, and which one you consider to be the best.

    Thank you for reminding me how important it follow your own style and for being open for a discussion. It was fruitful!

    Have a great week!
    Tieme

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      I am always open for discussion otherwise I wouldn’t put myself out here on an open forum lol ☺ I’ve really enjoyed this and I thank you Tieme, this post was meant to be a love letter to an art discussion. XO j.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      And I think we achieved that ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      Btw…i absolutely know you were not criticizing my work ☺ that’s why I wrote it was constructive ‘criticism’ or feedback. And it made me see another point of view! Success.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tieme says:

        We absolutely had a nice chat about different point of views! And I appreciate it as much as you do 🙂 Learned a lot of it. It was nice to share views and reasons, but the discussion reminded me that the opinion of the artist is most important 🙂

        Have a great week! I saw your weekend was great 😉 I’ve been under the weather lately.. So no wild weekends for me 😉

        Warm greetings!
        Tieme

        Liked by 1 person

        • Julia Manuel says:

          You know…I agree. And I honestly am not always confident about my own opinion. I’m sorry to hear your not feeling well. Sending healing vibes! Warmly, jules

          Liked by 1 person

          • Tieme says:

            Thank you for the healing vibes 🙂 Just had to ride my bike while it was hailing and storming. That felt refreshing 😉 I know the feeling.. I also am very sensitive to what others think.. But it are our photos, so we decided what we like best! Besides, who are we photographing for? Our selves, right?

            Cheers!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

