SHINE – Guest Post #2 Lucile de Godoy

What Life Path Ticket Do You Have?
by Lucile de Godoy
unnamed

I had yoga, plus reading and commenting on blogs, for breakfast.

Catching up on blogs I appreciate, brought me coincidently(?) to the same question, which served me well to kick off another week.

The question I like to ask myself and others: have we find our talent, passion, dreams and purpose, and do we let it live? Or are we following another life path?

Whilst having an imaginary cuppa with Estelea, a thoughtful blogger from Estelea’s blog, she wisely implied that single tasking is the new multitasking. Read more of what she has to say in Cheers to a New Single-Tasking Kind of Day!  

I got even more so into the mood that “Life is one, don’t blow it”, when reading an update on fellow blogger Ray Ferrer’s  health condition. You may not know that he recently discovered a brain tumor. He is a full-time artist and his wife had to stop working to help him full-time. They need help. Head to his blog and either buy his art or donate at GoFundMe.

The post Choose the Hard Path’  drove me deeper. Written with the refined sensitivity of photographer, journalist and artist Otto von Münchow at his blog In Flow, he points out that we take shortcuts as opposed to the hard-path: “There is something with us human being that is almost ingrained in our nature. We tend to take the easy way. Why shouldn’t we? Why make it hard when we can make it easy? I think this most human feature stems from prehistoric times, when we were still hunters and gatherers.”

I left a comment there, which I am bringing back here and writing a bit more on that.

The almost unconscious and unnoticed social pressure to conform to average standards, brings most people to average and unhappy life paths. Some not even discovering that their unhappiness comes from not having yet found out what they are good at, nor what their passion is.

The ones who know it already though, and still don’t follow it, do this sometimes because of the pressure to deliver, to perform, to be someone, to make money, to have a job (and there are many full-time occupations not being considered as a job!).

Fear plays a role too. How any people do not follow their artistic vocations for fear? How many people do not leave inadequate jobs for fear?

Somehow, the hunters and gatherers of the past had it easier on the social pressure aspect, whilst it was harder, to count as resources, only on wild plants and animals. We live exactly in the opposite state.

In our westerner social context, we have abundant resources and pressure. Taking no shortcut is about accepting that we don’t need to have all that is on offer to consume; that we don’t need to do what everyone does; that we don’t need to follow the paths lined up by others for us; that we don’t need to bother about people’s opinion on us; that we don’t need to be someone else but ourselves.

The biggest pressure we feel though is, of self-acceptance; realizing that, frees us up from the perception that we need to be accepted by others nor need to surrender to the perceived societal pressures.

Choosing to be oneself is a hard way to live, but it is still the only authentic and rewarding way.

So, what life path ticket do you have?

Did you buy a ready-made one, or are you shaping your life path?

This post is inspired by Trablogger who is in a journey to find his dreams and miracles in Dubai.

http://luciledegodoy.com/

About Me

I’m a Brazilian-Dutch living in Amsterdam with my husband, and am a bi-weekly stepmother of a teenager daughter.

I’m a sort of human MRI (magnetic resonance image) machine; addicted to ask questions, explore and discover. That makes me a knowledge-hunter and a very curious person, but believe me, my drive is not to prove my point but to expand my mind and yours, if you want.

My Claim 

I am an amateur writer, English is not my mother tongue and I write as I cook; I have many preferences and use many ingredients, but very rarely follow a recipe.

Living in different countries transformed me into a cross cultural chameleon, with an open mind to look at every place, person and situation from their many facets and contexts.

My wish is to lend you my lenses to view the world I experience, the stories I imagine, and the views I am still constantly shaping, over all events that touch me.

5 thoughts on “SHINE – Guest Post #2 Lucile de Godoy

  1. sheldonk2014 says:

    Even when you are presented with a path a choice and decision still.must be made, I have tried so many times to deny my path for so many reasons, it’s only know in my latter years that I taken this path and have seen all of its wonders, but everyone as you say is different,which I am finding out and have had made peace with that,I am grateful for this path,and at times I like to share. Today I am this path,and today I am more giving of it,for you can’t stay on this path unless you share
    Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    A most thought provoking post Julia. I was aware of Ray’s terrible situation. I do believe that I am creating a path or my own. Life has not always been that way and certainly easier with one’s children well launched and a supportive partner. Thanks for the read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for linking back to my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

