And on that note – Coffee Can Curling!

While I’m bitching about the weather the least I can do is try to cheer myself up and post photos of a really fantastic winter’s day I enjoyed with family and friends a weekend back. I have never curled before though it is quite the Canadian winter past-time…and I’ve certainly never curled outside in -40 temps on a lake in Muskoka with rocks made out of red Folgers coffee tubs filled with cement while drinking Bailey’s and whatnot enjoying the amazing sunshine and company of those I curled with! It was a fairly spectacular day. Total awesomesauce. It was so cold though we really didn’t hold any proper games. Most of the thirty odd folk who were there came out for a short peek, a toss of a rock and then head back into the warmth. Couldn’t blame them. If I hadn’t been more interested in my Nikon D90 Bella (we are in love) I wouldn’t have lasted either lol.

As there are quite a few photos I wish to include for those of us who were there, I will do it via several posts. Deep gratitude to Mav & Bill Blundon who hosted this delicious event πŸ™‚

And in no particular order,

Here…we…go!

feb 2015 104

Brandon just givin’ ‘er!

feb 2015 093

Ice was so slippery crawling was the easier way to cross it lol

feb 2015 092

Andy post throw…love the tongue lol

feb 2015 086

I think this is Oliver…

feb 2015 085

Nan’s beaver mitts…you might notice she’s also wearing gloves. It was THAT cold lol

feb 2015 083

The rocks! Red team, blue team. Mav made ’em πŸ™‚

feb 2015 079

Blue team wins!

feb 2015 076

Marilyn πŸ™‚

feb 2015 121

Da ice…so well done Jordan!

feb 2015 128

The bay…

feb 2015 122

Coralling the rocks…

feb 2015 089

feb 2015 096

My Bailey’s…yummmm

feb 2015 099

Cheers! Maureen, Nan & Mav

All photos shot on a Nikon D90, 35mm and edited with PicMonkey.

23 thoughts on “And on that note – Coffee Can Curling!

  1. sheldonk2014 says:

    Who would of thunk coffee cans could make a game how child like to amuse one’s self in such of a way
    What a great culture,just love the idea
    Shedon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mav Blundon says:

    Yes it was a great day, not sure it’s going to be a annual event, spent more time outside getting it ready than on the actual day, except to pass out the Bailey’s, but well done the teams that lasted the longest, Team Maureen & John playing Wendy & Andy, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne says:

    What a glorious adventure and what wonderful memories, lol! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha. It almost makes the cold bearable. No…not really, but it can keep the kids occupied for a while and that’s something.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sean Mungin says:

    Looks like fun…but…a little too cold πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ellen Hawley says:

    Wow. I’ve watched curling, but never on a frozen lake using coffee cans. Spectacular.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lynette Kyte says:

    Julie, I love your background of the background changes colour. How do I do that. My email is kipling3@bigpond.com. By the way my youngest daughter is coming home from a canadian adventure. The imagines are spectacular. My cousins live in Toronto & Peterborough. I found them after a lifetime of looking, which you know having read my blog https://kitedaughterlynettewilliambrotheremmaparr.wordpress.com/
    And I love the look of curling – now if I was only 50 years younger …

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mukhamani says:

    I love to see the photos of snow:) Here in South India, we have to see them only in photos:)) Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sylvia says:

    How did you make the rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

