Notes: It’s All About the Light

First lesson in the Basics of Photography with my new mentor & dear “old” friend Nicole Bond Winters. An hour and a half of wonder give or take the time it took to rejig my tetchy laptop as we’re doing this via Google Hangout. So wonderful to see her beautiful face. Lots of learnin’ and laughter. Quite brilliant to discover what I already knew and what I really didn’t.

We focused on the three  settings of Manual Photography (as opposed to Auto). I feel liberated! No more auto for me, now I really get to play!

Onward —>

Stance: Free hand cupping the bottom of the lens, elbows IN

Shutter Speed is like a curtain
letting in light
The higher the # the faster it draws open & close, less light, freeze motion
Lower #, slower draw, more light, blur motion
First question to ask yourself, “What is my objective? Do I want blurred action or frozen in time?”
Proceed from there

ISO: sensitivity to light
Lower # lets in less light (100, 200) outside daytime
Higher # more light (800—>)
Indoors, nighttime

Aperture (f-stop) & Depth of Field:
Lower number (1. 8) lets in more light, call it shooting “wide open”
Higher # (4 etc) less light

1.8 (low #) is the “beauty stop” focuses on eyes the rest “falls away” (blurry, lovely “bokeh”) fab for shooting portraits esp of women 😉 (less wrinkles lol)
Higher the stop more detail, sharper image

Tips to Remember:

Scale…what’s closest to the camera is largest.

When shooting two people together say, a couple, keep them on an even plane so they’re both in focus, use f-stop 2 & higher. For 3 people, stop 3 & higher and so on —>

Your camera wants to grab focus on the lightest part of the scene (in auto focus).

When shooting, the exact “numbers” are not what’s really important…they are constantly changing depending on the light because light is never constant. Most important, key ingredient, is your heart. Be inspired and allow the meter to do the guiding ☺

Das it for today! Hopefully this is helpful for other budding photographers out there. Next one Monday morning ☺

Thank you Nicole for helping me to become more confident in what I’m doing. Photography is the one place where I’m not “depressed” or “Bipolar”…I get to be me, to fly. Tis a peaceful, joyful place and your guidance will allow me to soar! You are one helluva lady, lady.

Til next time…

Peace, love & light,
Jules

image

Nikon D90 35mm F-stop 1.8 ISO 400 SS?

21 thoughts on “Notes: It’s All About the Light

  1. kbailey374 says:

    wow that is an awesome lesson 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amommasview says:

    Thanks for that! Beautiful photo of your cat!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Les says:

    “It’s all in the Light” is something that I learned a bit ago. The more you play with your Nikon, the more you learn. Get “out there”, Julia and see what your Nikon can do. I’ve done it many times, and still learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    I said I had to come to visit,I’m glad to hear that you made some head way,nothing better then some good old diversion,if your happy then I am

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    I tried clicking on the top of your blog to follow you it said that I am so let’s see

    Liked by 1 person

  6. aladywrites4u says:

    Lovely shot,

    Liked by 1 person

  7. buddy71 says:

    nice face 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. beeblu says:

    Thanks for sharing what you’ve learned. Love the curtain analogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Khloe says:

    See you know exactly what to do when it comes to taking pictures! You are incredibly talented honey 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. […] Mamamaitri If you need some great tips about photography: Here you go… […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

