Still Life

Remaining true to exactly what is there, no editing other than to increase contrast and straighten (I tend to shoot with a lean lol). Practicing using my NIkon D90 with 35mm lens in Manual mode: Shutter Speed, ISO and Aperture (f-stop) all controlled by me for the first time. This is a glass of “near beer” I was drinking yesterday. I realize now I wish I had moved the glass to a spot on the table that wasn’t inhabited by a sticker (lower left-hand corner), it’s a bit distracting. And in the first photo I would give myself more space on the bottom of the glass. Lessons!

near beer near beer2

You can teach a student a lesson for a day; but if you can teach him to learn by creating curiosity, he will continue the learning process as long as he lives. ~Clay P. Bedford

peace & light,

jules

25 thoughts on “Still Life

  1. dorne whale says:

    I’m impressed. I’m still cheating big time with my images. One of these days… yeah, right! LOL. Have a great weekend. x 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      Honestly I don’t think it’s cheating at all ☺ editing is creative! At the moment because I’m shooting in manual I want to project exactly what I’m seeing and not dress it up. Just for practice ☺ you have a great weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    There’s this l.p. by pat methany still life talking, I believe I spelled his name rite,it’s a great jazz album,just reminded me of what you are going through
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. smilecalm says:

    wonderful lesson!
    i’ve been thinking
    about other modes
    than auto 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Les says:

    See what I mean, Julia. See what your camera can do. Very good. No worries. However, just what is “near beer?”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Khloe says:

    I’m sure you are a fast learner and you can learn anything you ever wanted 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

