Celebrating!

My Mid-Term mark! 39 out of 40!!! Weeeeeeeeeeeee! I’m loving this course. I’m so proud of myself!

For those of you who don’t know   I’m taking a Pre-Admission course in Physiology and Anatomy for the Massage Therapy program at the Sutherland-Chan School here in Toronto. I haven’t been in class for over 20 years…was rather nervous, excited and somewhat intimidated in the beginning. I do not have a Science background, I’ve been Arts all the way. I was a professional Musical Theatre actor before I became a mother 6 years ago. But I’m beginning to understand that career was the perfect training ground.

I was a singer/ dancer / actor…performing in the musicals CATS, Grease, Jesus Christ Superstar, Gypsy, Annie, Les Misérables to name a few. I knew those shows inside and out. Had to. Showed up to perform 8 shows a week over 6 days for two, three, 4 months at a time. I know what commitment means. And I do learn very well. I can do this!

I wasn’t the best student in High School though I knew I could have done better. In University I studied Acting, I did very well, A’s and B’s…but in my electives not so much. Because they didn’t interest me, they were simply a means to an end. I was that person who showed up for the exam in a flurry, all a fluster, saying, “I crammed all night, I am so fucked. How do you feel?!”  Thus, I was worried, maybe…I’m not smart enough/good enough to succeed in this new program.

I’m happy to say that isn’t the case. I’m no longer that gal. That gal showed up yesterday for the exam all a fluster having crammed all night asking me, “How do you feel?!” I felt appropriately nervous but very prepared. And it showed in my results. Yay! For her as well. Sadly she barely passed the exam. We spoke afterwards, she lamenting her poor result. She REALLY wants to get into this program. So from now on I’m going to be her quiz partner. I was very practical about her situation. If she aces the next two quizzes and the final she’ll pass above the passing grade of 65. But she’s got to put in the work, the time. She can do it, she just has to DO it. She seemed a little lighter after we spoke. She’s not alone, she has me in her corner. We’ll pass together! I want her to do well and I want to help. Helps me too! I love having a quiz partner.

It feels good though to know I have changed. I’m no longer ekeing by by the skin of my teeth. I want to be the best Massage Therapist I can be! I don’t want to let myself down by just “getting by”.

Wow. I did it. I did it!!!
Sigh ☺…feels sum good.

image

Bala Bay Falls, 2015

Onwards & upwards!
Julia

24 thoughts on “Celebrating!

  1. smilecalm says:

    smiling to
    realization
    of your
    full potential, jules 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La Sabrosona says:

    Bravo Julia! And I didn’t know you were a singer/actor/dancer. Very cool! One of the things on my bucket list is to take singing lessons. I’m a professional car singer lol…but only when no one’s driving beside me 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mike7sedona says:

    That’s pretty awesome, well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Josh Wrenn says:

    Awesome, good for you for your achievement, and for the help you are giving.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Eva Jane says:

    Well done Julia…you are an inspiration. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hbhatnagar says:

    Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynette Kyte says:

    Julia I know the feeling. Well done. I just did my first ‘scholarly essay’ and when I handed it in I was so excited like a kid in a candy store. I’m with you all the way. I haven’t been able to blog lately but will pick up soon. Having knee replacement so should have a few minutes spare! Keep up the good work, and the support from all helps us keep on keeping on. Congrats again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      Thank you Lynette! I definitely feel like that kid in the candy store. Feels so awesome to love what I’m learning! I’m pleased to hear you are on a similar path. Wow knee replacement! Good for you. When does that happen?

      Like

  9. M.A. says:

    Isn’t it interesting to have an occasion to peel back the layer on the story we had told ourselves about who we are and discover a different sstory. Same story; same events. But a different interpretation and therefore a different sense of what’s possible. Maybe that’s what
    “lifelong learning” should really be about. I’m very happy for you and glad you’re getting to see what you can do and enjoy your achievements. And I’m not a bit surprised. Keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

