Checking In

image

Self-Portrait...Muskoka, Ontario...July 2015

Dear ones,

I have been ridiculously inattentive. Forgive me. It has been over two months since my last post! I sound like I’m  beginning a confession, lol.

How have you been? Please, fill me in, I want to know.

Summer FLEW by didn’t it? I’m hard pressed to remember it all. Best part of it for me was spending two weeks with my daughter at my Mother’s place up north in the land of Muskoka lakes. Lake swimming and ice cream eating. Every. Day. We are so lucky to have had this special time with my Mum. And I needed a break from the big city. Toronto does not present the depth of nature Muskoka offers so willingly and freely…and my soul needs the soothing surround of pure, peaceful nature.

On August 24th I began my courses in Massage Therapy at Sutherland-Chan here in Toronto. We have a healthy class of 37 wonderful, unique individuals all working together towards the same goal (they teach me so much!). We really are lucky to have each other.

It has been an intense period of transition, adjusting to a new full-time study schedule. And it’s truly full on. Both Anatomy and Physiology are dense courses…I can hardly believe I’m learning as much as I am in such a short time…all the bones and their structures from the pelvis to the feet and their muscles & ligaments (excluding the lower leg). I mean, it’s only been 4 weeks! It feels so much longer…in a good way, lol.

The best part of course are the practical classes where we learn massage techniques. Every week, three times a week, I get a massage. How brilliant is that?! We just learned Head/Neck/Shoulders… oh…my…gad it feels amazing!!

I have to say though, I love giving more than receiving. It’s a total workout and thus completely energizing. I love it. I massage with love :).

Regarding my mental health, school is so beneficial. I feel motivated and inspired every day. I have no time to ruminate. Bipolar who? Ha-cha-cha!

So, that’s me. Where I’m at right now.

I love that my 6 year old daughter and I are both going to school at the same time…learning, steady as she goes, new languages both (she French, me Anatomy speak). My husband makes our lunches for us…how sweet is that? How lucky are we :).

I leave you now, time to play a game with the little one.

Thank you for reading and being here.

Peace, love & light,
Julia

image

16 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. smilecalm says:

    happy you are progressing
    in the learning healing arts courses!
    with your loved ones and classes
    who has time to post?
    i have nothing really to do
    and still don’t find enough time for the blog.
    wishing you continued success
    and happiness
    one gentle breath
    at a time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Les says:

    That’s ok, Julia. I have not been doing much here lately myself. I have plenty to post, but just don’t get there for one reason or another.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    I was here earlier but was doing the dinner thing it’s an early nite
    Cause there’s girl scouts,so there was much activity,homework
    And all that stuff
    I glad your back
    Everything is just ok
    Not much to report
    Check back later
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jwhalen05 says:

    Nice to see you back at it! Can’t believe the Summer is over, either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julia Manuel says:

      Yes back albeit still intermittently. With full time classes and life it’s a challenge to stay connected here. Fall is upon us here in TO…Thanksgiving this past weekend brought gorgeous shirtsleeve weather!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It was lovely to hear from you, especially the progress you made. Just do whatever you love and we’ll always support you sweetie. ❤ Wish you nothing, but the best muahzZz!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Take care! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad to hear you are doing ok! I hope your holidays went well and I wish you the best this coming year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

